As You Wish: Inconceivable Tales from the Making of The Princess Bride

The past couple weeks have been very stressful for me between work and school, so I haven’t been able to do much reading.  However, over the course of the last few days, I finally finished the audiobook of As You Wish: Inconceivable Tales from the Making of The Princess Bride, by Cary Elwes and Joe Layden.  This book was amazing on many counts, but what I enjoyed most about it was the fact that each participant in the making of one of my favorite movies wrote a few passages, and in this particular audiobook many of them read those passages themselves.

This book read like a nostalgic memoir, one in which the reader is only let in on a few of the chaste secrets from the making of the movie.  Cary walks us through the creation of the film from start to finish, revealing facts about the movie that fans would not readily know.  For instance, I would have never guessed how nervous Wallace Shawn was over his role as Vizzini.  I also would have never known that Wesley’s limp in the “Life is Pain, Highness” sequence was a result of Cary breaking his toe before shooting began that day!  In many ways, particularly due to the constant changing voices, this book sounded like the audio of a television special, in which individuals interviews were held with each cast member, the director, and others.

I think this book was perfect to enjoy during my last few days.  It wasn’t highly intellectual and the revelations weren’t necessarily deep.  It was purely enjoyable, much like the film itself.  I’ve loved this movie since I was a girl, and so in many ways I felt that I was catching up with old friends.  It was a great distraction from everything else, and could not have come at a more opportune time.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

