Book Tags, Bookish

The Christmas Song Book Tag

One of my favorite parts of the holiday season is all the wonderful music!  I play a little piano, and my Christmas music songbooks are my favorite to play.  I practice them from October on, and I listen to Christmas music while I read as much as I’m able between Thanksgiving and Christmas.  So, when I found a Christmas Song Book Tag floating around the i\Internet, I had to grab it!

I believe this tag was created by Hailey in Bookland on YouTube.  No one tagged me, but that’s okay, I’ll take it anyway!

“You’re a Mean One, Mr. Grinch”: A villainous character you couldn’t help but love

Rose the Hat

Rose the Hat is one of those great bad guys who you absolutely despise, but she’s so brilliantly written that I’m also totally obsessed with her.  She’s a villain that I believe I would fear In Real Life, and she is what makes this book so. freakin’. scary!

“All I Want for Christmas is You”: Which book do you most hope to see under your Christmas tree

The Lunar Chronicles

So, the complete box set of the paperback copies of The Lunar Chronicles was released this fall, and I am dying to get my hands on them!  But I don’t have anywhere to put them, so I haven’t bought them for myself.  Ha!  But if they just turned up, I wouldn’t be sad. 🙂

“Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer”: Name a character who overcomes major obstacles and learns to believe in themself

Cameron Post

I am unbelievably grateful to have “met” Cameron Post this year.  This book quite literally changed my life.  And Cam’s story, from beginning to end, is one of the best coming-of-age tales I have ever encountered.  She definitely overcomes obstacles, and her understanding of self is so beautiful.

“Santa Claus is Coming to Town”: a) Which character do you think would be on the top of the Naughty List

Billie

I love Billie to death and I think she’s excellent and a beautiful soul, but lord knows she’s at the top of that Naughty List, with the rest of the Hexagon falling close behind…

b) The Nice List?

Sohrab

Sohrab is another absolutely pure soul and I love him.  (And yes, I’m using him as an example so that I can talk about Darius the Great is Not Okay, don’t judge me.)

“Frosty the Snowman”: which book just melts your heart

The Summer of Jordi Perez (And the Best Burger in Los Angeles)

This book was so stinkin’ cute, I can’t even handle it.  I was squeeing and tearing  up in my living room, while my hubby rolled his eyes at me.  Such an adorable little f/f rom com!

“Feliz Navidad”: Choose a book that takes place in a country other than your own

Beartown

Any book by Fredrik Backman would work here, so I though I’d highlight one with a wintery (or at least a snowy) cover!  This is also one of my favorite Backman books, and I recommend it to all of you!

“It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year”: Which holiday-themed book do you use to spread Christmas joy?

The Lump of Coal

I don’t read a lot of holiday-themed books, but I stumbled across this one a few years ago, and it’s a cute, fun little read for the Christmas season!  Also, there’s an audiobook that is narrated by Neal Patrick Harris, which I think is essential to the reading experience! 😀

“Sleigh Ride”: Which fictional character would you choose to spend the holidays with?

Leah

I feel like Leah would be the perfect holiday partner in crime.  She’s snarky enough to keep me from getting too sentimental, but also low-key into all the cutesy stuff and would totally play along like a good sport.

“Baby, It’s Cold Outside”: Which book (that you didn’t like) would you sacrifice to a fire to warm yourself in the cold?

Vox

I wasted way too much time on this book, between the waiting for my hold on a library copy and then the actual reading.  I deserve a little fire.

“Do You Hear What I Hear?”: Which book do you think everyone should read?

The Perks of Being a Wallflower

No one is surprised.

This was such a fun tag!  What answers would you give for these prompts?  Let me know!  And feel free to borrow this and use it for yourself. 🙂

Cheers!

Leave a comment